Ahhhh. Figs

As many have noted, it’s the (really short) season of figs. I love figs, but I can’t eat as many as I get in my CSA before they turn. I searched for small batch fig recipes and was nearly buried under the avalanche.

I chose the one from Food & Wine magazine. It has only four ingredients, which I tweaked because of how many figs I had and the desire to add a little somethin’-somethin’. That somethin’-somethin’ was Cointreau and rosemary.

This is not a recipe that I would recommend for canning – I didn’t test that. All I wanted was something in the fridge to stir into oatmeal and yogurt, put with cheese, or use to baste some pork.

The results are fabulous.

IMG_1772

Fig Jam for the Fridge (Adapted from Food & Wine)

Yield: 1 pint

1 1/2 lbs figs (I used Gold Honey variety)
1 c sugar
3 T lemon juice
5 T Cointreau
1 branch rosemary

Remove any stems from figs, and chop into smallish pieces. Stir figs and sugar together in a medium saucepan, and allow to sit for 15 minutes or so.

Add lemon juice, Cointreau, and rosemary to the figs and sugar. Put the pan over medium heat and stir occasionally as the mixture heats up.

When the jam is bubbling, stir more frequently to keep anything from sticking to the bottom of the pan. It’s ready when you dip in a spoon and the jam falls off in blobs.

Put into a clean jar, and allow to cool. Store in the fridge for two weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

