Knockin’ About

A new sweater! And about time – I have very few tops for winter that I actually want to wear.

This one isn’t for work – it’s definitely a weekend sweater. But it’s very comfortable and almost too warm. The high today was 53 degrees F, and I didn’t wear a coat. For those who know me well, that’s a really warm sweater.

The pattern is Unisex Knock-Around Cashmere Pullover by Teva Durham, and I got it from the book Weekend Knits. The center panel is knit and turned on it’s side, then stitches are picked up to knit up and over for the top front and bad, panels. Finally, stitches are picked up along the bottom of the center panel for the bottom panels of the tunic. You can either seam the sides in the conventional way, or if you’d rather wear it inside out, you can use the Kitchener stitch to make the sides seamless. Guess which finish I chose.

For reasons I can’t remember, I chose to knit the smallest size. On the one hand, the shoulder seams land right on my shoulders and the neck is perfect. On the other hand, it’s a little tight from my bust downward for the fit that I actually wanted.

The bottom panels are not actually seamed together – they are simply a vent. I am not 22 any more, so to avoid showing skin I seamed them together a couple of inches.

The yarn is by Cascade Yarns, 128 Superwash, which means I can treat this sweater very casually. This is the last purple garment I knit for myself for the next few months – there’s way too much purple in the stash.

 

3 comments

  1. You can knit something purple for me! It’s amazing how much purple had crept into my wardrobe even before starting work at TCU. Now tho, it’s something to be looked for … J

    The sweater looks great, by the way. I’m still hoping to take a knitting class sometime here soon.

    Hugs, kb

    • I have some yarn leftover – how ’bout his and her cowls for you and Alan? Of course, there’s probably only one day out of the year in Texas when you could wear them.


Leave a Reply

