Hummus

Did you just groan?

Yes, yes – there are a lot of articles and recipes out there for hummus, and I haven’t met one I didn’t like. I think that I have finally nailed down a formula that is my basic recipe.

 

1 15 oz can of chickpeas, drained and liquid reserved

1 clove garlic, peeled

3 tablespoons tahini

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Turn on the food processor, and drop the garlic clove in through the chute. (It gets chopped up much better if it’s first in the bowl.) Turn off the machine and add the chick peas, tahini, lemon juice, olive oil, 4 tablespoons of the bean liquid, and salt and pepper. Turn the machine on and find something else to do for about two minutes.

After two minutes, get a spoon and take a taste of the hummus. What does it need? When I made it yesterday, I added 2 more tablespoons of both bean liquid and olive oil. Then I turned the machine on again for another three minutes. It was velvety smooth, and no one flavor was dominant. I used it as a base for roasted mushrooms for dinner. I think K finished the rest after dinner – I couldn’t find any leftovers.

You could add more garlic, chopped parsley, cumin, paprika, something spicy like harrisa. After you make the base, the customization is up to you – there are no hummus police.

Mushrooms on hummus

Leave a Reply

