Melted Crayons

 

Another yarn that seduced me in the store but doesn’t (yet) live up to my fantasy. All those hot colors with a few blue tones to cool it down! How could I walk away from it. And yet …

It’s not the yarn’s fault. My imagination needs more exercise, that’s all. The brand is Fiesta Ballet, and the color is Rio de Janeiro. It’s a blend of alpaca and tencel, so it’s quite drapey. And soft. And warm. The reds bled quite a bit when I put the finished cowl in a bath, but the red dye didn’t seem to stray onto the other colors. Not enough to bother me, anyway.

I wanted a cowl, since everyone else on the planet has one. I measured around my neck, added a few inches so I could breathe and it might scrunch prettily, and cast on. The finished cowl is 21″ in diameter and 10″ tall, and it took less than one skein to complete. Basically, the “pattern” is

  1. Cast on 128 sts on a 16-inch US 6 needle.
  2. Join sts and work in the round.
  3. Work in K3/P1 ribbing for 2 inches.
  4. Work stockinette stitch for 6 inches.
  5. Work in K3/P1 ribbing for 2 inches.
  6. Bind off in pattern.

It looks fine around my neck on its own. When I wear it with my coat, it flops around (i.e., drapes). It isn’t my fantasy! Grrr.

I’m such a four-year-old.

2 comments

  1. I have the same problems with some of my knitted stuff, doesn’t quite turn out the way I imagined it would 😦 But keep trying! Cause the next one will turn out better since you now have some “practice” under you belt!


Leave a Reply

