Ingredients: Chicken Stock

I like making my own stock. I don’t always take the time to do it, but I’m getting better about keeping it around. A few weeks ago, I purchased some chicken necks and backs from my CSA specifically to make stock. I made one hell of a stock this afternoon. It was a balance of flavors that I rarely achieve but always read about in the NYT Food and Dining section. I’m not sure why, but there was no foam to skim off and the fat content was non-existent. Here’s the kicker – I forgot to add salt, and I don’t think I will until time to use it. It just doesn’t need it.

1.5 lbs. chicken backs and necks

2 celery stalks, each cut into 3″ chunks

1 yellow onion, peeled and cut into wedges

2 small bay leaves

8 or so sprigs of thyme

5 branches of rosemary

1 long branch of tarragon (it should be full of leaves)

10 cups of water

Pepper to taste

Put everything into a large pot. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat to low and simmer for an hour. Let cool. Strain the liquid, and put into 2 cup freezer containers. You will have 4 full containers and one leftover cup. Put the cup of stock in the fridge to use in the next few days, like for braising collard greens or baby bok choi.

Dinner tonight:

Salad with green leaf lettuce, cucumbers, kalamata olives, and drained canned tuna. I also had half an avocado on mine. The dressing was a homemade vinegrette.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Tuesday « Domestic, not domesticated


Leave a Reply

