Potato Leek Soup

I craved me some potato leek soup for a month before I finally made it. It’s ridiculously simple, so I had no excuse. I even took the leftovers to work for lunch. Twice. I’m not good with leftovers, so this is saying something. Here’s how I made it:

I sliced and cleaned one small leek. I melted about 2 teaspoons of butter in a large saucepan and sautéed the leeks for a bit. I peeled two russet potatoes and diced them. When the leeks were soft, I added the potatoes, 6 cups of water, 2 tablespoons of homemade vegetable bouillon, and brought the whole thing to a boil. Then I lowered the fire to medium-low and walked away for 20 minutes. I poked the  potatoes to see if they were tender (they were). I turned off the stove and pureed it with my trusty immersion blender. It was enough for two adults on a Sunday evening with leftovers for two lunches.

soup ingredients

Some notes:

  • Most folks use plain water to make this soup. I have homemade bouillon in my freezer, and this mixture boosted the soup nicely. It boosts the flavor of everything. Thank you, Heidi Swanson.
  • An immersion blender is great when you are making small batches of soup. Mine’s a Cuisinart.
  • Leeks have a rotten reputation for cleanliness. The easiest thing in the world to do is to slice or chop them first, then put them in a bowl of water for about five minutes. Fish the leeks out of the water, leaving the dirt and sand behind.

finished soup

Leave a Reply

